The NEOS Server and Guide is supported jointly by the Morgridge Institute for Research and the Wisconsin Institute for Discovery. Computational resources are provided by the Center for High Throughput Computing (CHTC) at the University of Wisconsin, the Arizona State University, the University of Klagenfurt in Austria, and the University of Minho in Portugal. The current NEOS team consists of Jeff Dischler, Michael Ferris, Ben Huebner, Jeff Linderoth, and Elizabeth Wong.

The NEOS Server is a collaborative project of the optimization community. Many people have contributed to the NEOS Server, but several efforts stand out:

  • Hans Mittelmann introduced the semi-infinite optimization, and semidefinite and second-order cone programming areas on the NEOS Server. He is also the solver administrator for more than a third of the solvers.
  • David Gay provides constant support for the AMPL solvers.
  • GAMS Development Corporation provides solver support and has developed a GAMS-to-AMPL translator.

Several popular commercial solvers are available free-of-charge through the NEOS Server thanks to the generosity of the following companies:

Until 2010, the NEOS Server was supported by the Mathematics and Computer Science Division at Argonne National Laboratory. Many thanks to Jorge Moré, Sven Leyffer, Todd Munson, and Jason Sarich for their contributions over the years, and to Jean-Pierre Goux, Jeff Linderoth and Bob Fourer for earlier development work. The development of the NEOS Server was partially supported by various grants from the Office of Advanced Scientific Computing of the Department of Energy and the National Science Foundation.